Jaywalking: True Art Form

I bet you didn’t know that jaywalking is an art. Well, get ready, I’ve got news for you: jaywalking is an art form.

Jaywalking: An Art Form. I probably crossed this street. Illegally. A Media Matters @ WFHS post.

Jaywalking: An Art Form. I probably crossed this street. Illegally. A Media Matters @ WFHS post.

Over the recent fall break, my Dad and I took a trip to Boston. Now I’m no city girl. I’d like to be (hence, the trip to Boston to visit colleges. But that’s another blog post.), but all I’ve ever known is the suburbs. In the suburbs, we drive. Not to say I don’t make the occasional pilgrimage to Atlanta, but Atlanta is full of suburb-livers who are as clueless as anyone else.

We flew to Boston. No car. We were about a ten-fifteen minute walk from the nearest train station and then there was the walking after you got off the train and, well, I’ll just say that I took many a step more than I do on an everyday basis. And many, many of those steps involved crossing the road.

No, you don’t wait for the handy little person on the display that tells you it’s safe. No. Unless you want to look like the dweeb (the safe dweeb, I tell you) standing on the sidewalk while everybody else walls.

At least seventy-five percent of the time, that display is showing an ominous red hand and you walk anyway. You just do it. Walk across the road. Hope you don’t get hit.

This took a little while to learn – the best possible situation would involve waiting at the cross walk with a Boston native and walking when they walked. That was how we figured it out and by the end of the trip we were regular jaywalking criminals.

Jaywalking: An Art Form. Boston University, sight of the crime. A Media Matters @ WFHS post.

Jaywalking: An Art Form. Boston University, sight of the crime. A Media Matters @ WFHS post.

Even our tour guide from my Boston University tour wearing a bright yellow raincoat led the group across the road. Without a signal. Led us all to our certain doom – death by car, bus, stray bicycle. Death by jaywalking.

A true art, I’m telling you.

Tell us what you think! Leave a reply!