Really falling into the books!

Really falling into the books. A Media Matters@ WFHS Post.

Really falling into the books. A Media Matters@ WFHS Post.

I have been described as a very creative person just for the reason that I tend to get very excited at the thought of a new projects because it is a blank slate just for me. Every day as I enter this class the first thing I look at might be much different from other students. For others when passing the library they might be looking in to see their friends or perhaps at the computers, however I look at the bulletin board. Varying from a pick your own adventure random book drive to books that fit in along with the upcoming holiday there have been some great ideas. If I could leave one thing at West Forsyth then I wish to help think of some good ideas for bulletin boards.

My first idea for the board is a mixed portrait of everything we have. Earlier this year we had begun to purge some of the older books and many of them were left unused. We could use the covers as well as the pages to bring people in. The bright contrast of the glossy covers against the pages attracts the eye and we could enhance it by using large brightly colored letters promoting the library.

Another idea could be a creative play on the old reading expression “dive into reading.” I am a big fan of mix media pieces so perhaps the art program could assist with any number of these. When I think of a board titled “Dive into Reading” I see it put up right after summer,  a cute cartoon character drawn diving off a board ready to swim into a large ocean that if you look closely looks like a book. A cute and fun way to bring anyone in. A great board does not even have to be an individual project it could be a competition. As a way to bring people into the library why not hold a contest for the best bulletin board?

Lastly, a concept that is very close to my heart. All my life I can remember being enchanted by the story of Alice and Wonderland, particularly the falling down the rabbit hole, so I think that would be a great board. Using pages from old recycled books and water-color paint we can portray Alice, literally, falling into her reading.

There are many more ideas that I possess, all we need is the creativity and the drive to make it happen.

 

 

 

 

 

Tell us what you think! Leave a reply!